Family Cottage in five acres

Superhost

Hela boendet (privatbostad) med värden Vivien

7 gäster, 4 sovrum, 5 sängar, 2 badrum
Helt boende
Du får hela boendet (hus) för dig själv.
Utökad rengöring
Denna värd har åtagit sig att följa Airbnbs femstegsprocess för utökad rengöring.
Bra läge
90 % av de senaste gästerna gav platsen fem stjärnor.
Bra incheckningsupplevelse
95% av nyliga gäster gav incheckningsprocessen fem stjärnor.
Our cottage is In a peaceful hamlet of seven houses. Families who come here usually end up staying on the five acres the whole time, although we are only 45 - 60 minutes from the seaside' This isn't just a holiday home - the Night Garden' (as some families have named it) is full of rope swings, little hideaways, adventure games and an above ground pool. The canal offers other experiences; and field activities with a footy pitch and a campfire will keep the whole family happily occuped !

Boendet
This is our family home, with an oil fired Aga type cooker and an open fire.
The accommodation is flexible. Basically it is set up comfortably for 4 /5 adults with 2/3 children and two infants in cots sharing with their parents .
There are two large double bedrooms, a small single room and a very small room with bunks; (the top bunk is across the top of the lower one and is only 5'3" long) There is a cot in each double bedroom .
The shower room upstairs has a walk in shower, basin and WC; and the downstairs bathroom has a small bath, basin and WC. Both are hotel quality and all towels and linen are provided.
One of the many features our garden has to offer is the disused stretch of canal. We have two kayaks, a raft and a pedalo which are an amusement rather than a serious sport! The same goes for the 'football pitch'....
Many families have enjoyed the camp fire in the copse, and we supply some marshmallows..
There's a gas BBQ with lots of outdoor furniture. In addition, in the field, there is a brick built charcoal BBQ. If you don't fancy cooking, there's a carvery pub 2 miles down the road.
In the kitchen there is an American style fridge freezer; and a stocked larder - so no need to bring condiments etc. Anything found in the kitchen is yours to use. There's a dish washer and a washing machine, ironing board and iron...
The village shop is up the hill and run by our retired vicar!
The village church is the cutest you've ever seen and is usually open.
There is almost too much wildlife in the garden - rabbits, voles, deer, badgers (have seen the Set, but badgers not yet seen) foxes, hares, some tame pheasants, moorhens and ducks. Birds of prey circle the skies above us and sheep and owl noises remind us we're in the country.
In the field, we have installed a 10 foot diameter above ground pool, which is deep enough for young children to swim in. There are two paddling pools of different sizes available by request and half a dozen wicked water pistols -you can refuse these! Also in the field are ropes and swings and a den and a play tent and a sandpit...
Wellington is a charming little old town which hides a Waitrose and an Asda around the back...

Var du kommer att sova

Sovrum 1
1 dubbelsäng, 1 spjälsäng
Sovrum 2
1 dubbelsäng, 1 spjälsäng
Sovrum 3
1 våningssäng

Vad detta boende erbjuder

Utsikt mot trädgården
Utsikt mot kanal
Tillgång till sjön
Kök
Wifi
Gratis parkering inkluderad
Privat utomhus pool
TV
Tvättmaskin
Torktumlare

Välj incheckningsdatum

Lägg till dina resedatum för exakt prissättning
Incheckning
Lägg till datum
Utcheckning
Lägg till datum

4,95 av 5 stjärnor från 133 omdömen

Renlighet
Noggrannhet
Kommunikation
Plats
Incheckning
Värde

Var du kommer att vara

Greenham, England, Storbritannien

The cottage is in a small hamlet of seven houses and a really cute little church, next to the river Tone.
The Grand Western canal which linked Bridgwater to Tiverton runs through the property, but is now all but dried up. However there is a somewhat sludgy 250 metres of it left in a part of the garden, about 100 metres of it is now navigable, - we are working on extending this!. A walk across a field or two will lead guests to a refurbished and beautiful stretch of canal which goes 12 miles to Tiverton. This is wonderful walking country !
Although the grandchildren like to call our bit of the canal "The Swamp", it is navigable for the first 100 metres, with the kayaks, pedalo and raft, from which, only two of our guests have fallen in recently!
This is English countryside at its best - rolling hills, small farms and assorted villages. Quiet, star-lit skies at night and abundant wildlife: from badgers to moorhens, deer, rabbits and of course ducks. 14 ducks, a pheasant and four moorhens are sat on the lawn as I write...
Wellington is a lovely small town which boasts a Waitrose as well as one of those quintessential English ironmongers that sell everything; and a few boutique shops along with other small town shops and restaurants / cafes. Almost all currently closed.
The same goes for the several cosy pubs within a five mile radius.

Vivien är din värd

  1. Blev medlem april 2016
  • 133 omdömen
  • Identitet verifierad
  • Superhost
My husband, Robert, and I are retired 'teachers'. Him in Overseas Learning and Development and myself a Health and Social care lecturer. We have lived all over the world, dragging our nine children with us! We have always had a huge house, but have hankered for the land to play on, with less house to maintain. We have been here six years and it still feels like we're on holiday in someone else's lovely cottage! We spend all our time outside in the summer - mainly working on clearing the canal. It is 250 metres long and we are really looking forward to the day when our numerous grandchildren can race kayaks to the bridge and back. We have a studio building down by the canal and are happy to live in that during the summer months. The income we generate from letting the house will help us develop the whole property - and our gardening habit is expensive! I am a competitive Masters swimmer and Robert is a half marathon runner, as is our neighbour, Bob. Our other neighbours are really great and we are part of a very vibrant community. Our youngest daughter lives over the road and they look after the property for us if we ever get to go away. Robert plays guitar and is reforming a band, perhaps you're keen to jam? - he'd be delighted! Just one thing - I am allergic to tobacco products and we have a total smoking ban on the property.
My husband, Robert, and I are retired 'teachers'. Him in Overseas Learning and Development and myself a Health and Social care lecturer. We have lived all over the world, dragging…

Medvärdar

  • Naomi

Under din vistelse

We like to be around when we have guests, but not 'in their faces'!
We will be in the studio or in the garden.
We'll keep an eye out for your children, as the canal is a potential hazard. Vivien can show you how to get the most out of the raft, pedalo and kayaks.
We like to be around when we have guests, but not 'in their faces'!
We will be in the studio or in the garden.
We'll keep an eye out for your children, as the canal is a…

Vivien är en Superhost

Superhosts är erfarna värdar med gott anseende som engagerar sig för att tillhandahålla en fantastisk vistelse för sina gäster.
  • Språk: English, Français, Español
  • Svarsfrekvens: 100%
  • Svarstid: inom en timme
För att skydda din betalning bör du aldrig föra över pengar eller kommunicera utanför Airbnbs webbplats eller app.

Bra att veta

Husregler

Incheckning: 16:00 till 23:00
Utcheckning: 11:00
Ingen rökning
Inga husdjur
Inga partyn eller tillställningar

Hälsa och säkerhet

Har åtagit sig att följa Airbnbs utökade rengöringsrutin. Visa mer
Airbnbs riktlinjer för social distansering och andra riktlinjer relaterade till COVID-19 gäller
Pool/bubbelpool utan grind eller lås
Närliggande sjö, flod eller annan vattensamling
Klätter- eller lekkonstruktion

Avbokningspolicy